University of Calgary

Gérard Lachapelle

2006 - Fellowship from the Royal Institute of Navigation view>>>

2005 - Casey Baldwin Award, Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute, together with colleagues from the University of Calgary and Spirent Communications (SW) Limited, U.K.

2005 - Faculty Graduate Education Award

Dr. Lachapelle Wins ASTech Award - October 15, 2004

Prof. Lachapelle received the 2004 Alberta Science and Technology (ASTech) Leadership Foundation Award for Outstanding Leadership in Alberta Technology. The ASTech awards and prizes recognize the brightest minds and outstanding achievements in the Alberta science and technology community.
Press Release

2004 - Research Excellence Award, Faculty of Engineering, University of Calgary

2003 - Honorary Professor, Universita' Degli Studi Di Napoli Parthenope, Naples, Italy,

2003 - elected Fellow of the U.S.-based Institute of Navigation in recognition of his sustained contributions in the field of global navigation satellite systems and related educational accomplishments.

2003 - elected Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering in recognition of his extensive contribution to the development and dissemination of satellite-based navigation technologies in Canada and internationally.

2002 - conferred an Honorary Professorship from the University of Wuhan, People's Republic of China. In awarding the status of Honorary Professor to Dr. Lachapelle, the University of Wuhun cited his pioneering contributions and numerous outstanding achievements in the area of satellite-based positioning and navigation during the past 25 years. His sustained involvement in graduate education and in related professional and scientific societies was also cited.

2002 - elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada for the development and dissemination of satellite-based navigation technology in Canada and internationally in the area of satellite-based positioning. Fellowship in the Royal Society of Canada is considered Canada's most prestigious academic accolade to which scholars and scientists aspire. "These distinguished individuals have accomplished work of truly outstanding quality," said Howard Alper, President of the Royal Society of Canada. "They add enormous value to the extraordinary resource of talent and experience that constitutes the Society."

2002 - Elected Western Region Vice President of the Institute of Navigation

2001 awarded a prestigious

    Canada Research Chair (CRC)/iCORE Chair
    in Wireless Location - more information


2000 - Frank Spragins Technical Award. The Frank Spragins Technical Award is awarded to members of APEGGA who are recognized by their peers for their integrity and expertise and for their outstanding accomplishments in fields related to engineering, geology or geophysics. In making the award, APEGGA cited Dr. Lachapelle's outstanding contribution to the field of satellite-based positioning development and novel applications during the past twenty years.

1999 - Department Research Excellence Awards

Honorary Professorship from the University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (UESTC).

1998 - Faculty Research Excellence Award

1998 - Geomatics Engineering Research Excellence Award

1998 - Alouette Award

1997 - Johannes Kepler Award - given annually for sustained and significant contributions to satellite navigation, at the GPS-97 conference of the Institute of Navigation (ION) held in Kansas City, September 16-19, 1997. The coveted award was presented by Mr. Gaylord Green, chairman of the ION Satellite Division.

1993 - Terra Award